How to Create a Chocolate Covered Strawberry Tower

This beautiful tower is a snap to make and provides a wonderfully dramatic centerpiece for your table.

1. Gather your Ingredients and Tools

For this project you’ll need:

1 Styrofoam cone (The one I used was 15″ tall)

Paint in coordinating color – I used gold

Saran Wrap

4 Pounds of strawberries (fewer if you’re stronger than I am and don’t eat any while you’re making this….)

Chocolate.  You can temper your own or cheat like me and just pick up a package of Wilton’s Candy Melts in Dark Cocoa

Toothpicks

Waxed paper

2. Prepare your cone for a strawberry invasion

Spray paint the styrofoam cone in a coordinating color.  I use this dessert at my Oscar Party so I always choose to spray paint my cone gold.  You don’t have to paint the cone, but no one wants to see boring green styrofoam when they start taking strawberries off this tower.  Then cover the cone in saran wrap.  It’s really the ew factor that makes me do this….I just don’t want anyone eating any gold spray paint!

3. Prepare the strawberries
Wash all the strawberries.  For this particular cone I cut off all the tops because they looked a bit wilted.  But if you leave the tops on, it’s a great place to hold on to while you are dipping in chocolate.  I used all these strawberries to make my cone….except the 7 I ate when I was making it.

4. Dip half the strawberries in chocolate

Prepare your chocolate according to package directions or temper your own chocolate.  If you want to cover all your strawberries in chocolate knock yourself out!  You’ll just need more chocolate.

Let the chocolate set by placing the strawberries on a sheet of waxed paper.  It is handy to have the tops cut off for this step as you place the strawberries top side down for even chocolate setting.

5. Place a row of strawberries on the cone

I always start with a row of strawberries and then a row of chocolate covered strawberries.  I don’t know why, I just like it that way.  But you can be a rebel and start with chocolate strawberries if you want.

Begin by inserting a toothpick into the cone and then placing the strawberry onto the cone.  Don’t insert the toothpick into the strawberry first – it doesn’t have enough resistance to push into the styrofoam.  You’ll have to judge by the size of your strawberries how closely to insert the next toothpick.  Luckily the strawberries vary in size so if you guess wrong you can usually find a strawberry that will work with your toothpick placement.

6. Continue alternating rows of strawberries

Continue with alternate rows of strawberries and chocolate covered strawberries until you reach the top and top with more strawberries.  Then enjoy!

34 thoughts on “How to Create a Chocolate Covered Strawberry Tower

  1. Pingback: Top Posts of the Year | HMH Designs

  2. Pingback: Oscar Party Menu | HMH Designs

  3. Pingback: Oscar Party Wrap Up | HMH Designs

  4. Pingback: Oscar Party Menu | HMH Designs

  5. My partner and I stumbled more than here coming from a different web web page and believed I should check issues out. I like what I see so i’m just following you. Look forward to going more than your web web page repeatedly.

  6. Hi,

    I have been searching this method all over the internet and finally stumbled upon your technique. I had three questions. 1. What spray did you use? 2. How did you attach the styrofoam to the gold card? 3. How does the tower not topple over? Thank you!!!

    • Hi, 1. I used Krylon, but really anything will work 2. That’s actually not a gold card on the bottom, it’s a gold plate, the tower just sits on it. 3. I’ve never had the tower topple. It’s got a pretty wide base, especially since the strawberries on the bottom row are almost always the last to go!

  7. Pingback: DIY Chocolate Covered Strawberry Tower | Home Design, Garden & Architecture Blog Magazine

  8. Pingback: DIY Chocolate Covered Strawberry Tower - Best Home Interior Design Website

  9. Hey, this masterpiece has been living in my head for months and im ready to go for it. One question tho, do you start the process when the berrys are still wrt, or do you allow them to dry?

  10. Pingback: Wonderful DIY Sweet Chocolate Covered Strawberry Tower | WonderfulDIY.com

  11. Pingback: Oscar Party Menu | HMH Designs

  12. HI there,!

    This is great! can I ask though what is the best way to allow the chocolate to set.. I usually put mine in the fridge and then take out but then the chocolate becomes yucky.. how do I set chocolate so its perfect?

  13. Pingback: 21 Romantic Chocolate Gifts | Dodo Burd

  14. hello, would it still look good if you set the chocolate dipped strawberries on a plate to dry them make the tower… how do you do yours?

  15. Pingback: Chocolate Covered Pink Party | Agatha Chocolats

  16. Pingback: 21 Romantic Chocolate Gifts - Dodo Burd

  17. Hi! Thank you so much for sharing the work of Art! I’m going to try it for a holiday party! How far in advance can I make this? Thank you

  18. Pingback: 21 Romantic Chocolate Gifts

  19. Pingback: 14 Best Strawberry Decorations Ideas ⋆ Bright Stuffs – Diy Royalty

  20. Pingback: 14 Greatest Strawberry Decorations Concepts ⋆ Shiny Stuffs - Infiniteshopguide. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment