Angry Birds Birthday Cake

For Jack’s 8th birthday he requested an Angry Birds cake.  I know that he and Caroline play the game obsessively, but that’s pretty much all I know about it.  So I had to do some serious research online to come up with a design.  I decided in this case, it was time to go big or go home.  So here is the cake on it’s very own 2′ by 3′ cake board.To make this little gem, I baked two chocolate half spheres from the Wilton Soccer Ball cake pan and one 8″x8″ square chocolate.  I then whipped up 12 cups of icing and tinted various portions in: Red, Black, Sky Blue, Brown, Orange, Kelly Green, and Yellow.

I started decorating by carving one of the half spheres into a triangle shape for the yellow bird.  

I gave him a quick coat in yellow icing and put him into chill a bit before adding the first round of details to his face. While he was chilling out, I worked on the structure they were planning to destroy.  I created the launcher and eight planks out of the chocolate square cake.  I then iced all of them brown and set them to chill as well – here are a few of the planks in process.I covered the other sphere with the red icing and put in the first round of details on the red bird before turning my attention to the massive cake board.  My design calls for a sky and grass background so I covered the board with a thin layer of blue and green. Here’s my in process picture with the sky in place.I then placed all the pieces and added in the details like a few tiny pigs to come up with the final creation. The birthday boy requested the addition of movement lines and I think they add just the right touch.  Happy birthday Jackson! And no, the boy’s not drinking – that’s the wine I needed after finishing this cake in only three hours!  And just to keep it real, here’s what my kitchen looked like after a fast three hour cake assembly: The other side is just as messy!  Thank goodness Heather was there to help me clean up!!

–Martta

7 thoughts on “Angry Birds Birthday Cake

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly
    donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and
    will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a comment