Cupcake Carrier Remodel (How to get you cupcakes out of the carrier without ruining them)

I have a fabulous cupcake carrier.  I love it.  I can carry up to 36 cupcakes at a time!  This is perfect for a cupcake-a-holic like myself.  But here’s my dilemma: I can get all my little lovelies in to the carrier perfectly, but I almost always stick a finger in the frosting trying to get them out!

I’ve tried tilting the tray of cupcakes and going after the cupcakes with Operation-style precision, but nothing seems to work.  The same high sides that keep them perfectly in place prevent me from grabbing them out of the tray when we reach our destination.  Then I noticed that the fabulous cupcakes from Hey Cupcake come in boxes that have little finger dents on the side of each cupcake slot and I began to wonder if I could do a little carrier remodel on my own…..

It was my brother who came up with the break through solution (pun intended).  He suggested if I just drill a hole in the bottom of the cupcake tray, I could push the cake up with my finger thereby allowing me to grab the edges without messing up the icing.  Genius.

Off to the home improvement store to pick up the biggest drill bit I could find to make this happen. 

Here we are ready to go to work!  And before you ask, yes that is my kitchen table that I’m drilling over.  My wooden kitchen table.

Now’s a good time to think about doing this project on a workbench.  But let’s carry on anyway.

So with my 1/2″ drip bit, I began to drill holes into the center of each of the cupcake slots. 

After a bit of trial and error, I found that a slow to medium speed left me with the cleanest holes.  If you drill too fast, you’ll end up cracking the tray and usually leaving a big chuck of  funky plastic chips, like the hole in the bottom right hand corner.

But that’s OK, it’s still totally functional.  I just sanded it down a bit and it’s not a problem.

Now for the true test.  Let’s load her up with cupcakes!  Yup, as you can see, it’s not much of a lift, but it’s all you need to get your cupcakes out freely!  Perfect, I think I’ll go make some more cupcakes.

–Martta

PS – No kitchen tables were harmed in this remodel.  Whew!

3 thoughts on “Cupcake Carrier Remodel (How to get you cupcakes out of the carrier without ruining them)

  1. I just tried this because I had the same problem with getting cupcakes out. I used a wood bit (the flat type) and that seemed to work great and made nice holes without cracking. I did use a larger bit though because of my finger size. The 1/2 inch was too small for me.

  2. I have the Cupcake Courier and I love it but this was a problem for me also, I’m no good with power tools though… perhaps I’ll get the fella to do this for me. In the meantime I’ve made do with putting a coin in the bottom of each cup. It’s JUST enough to give me that extra fraction of an inch so I don’t smudge frosting but not so high that it makes the cupcakes unstable (I tried a peppermint candy and this is good too but can’t do very high frosting with the added height). Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

