Ut Prosim

It’s hard to believe it’s been five years since the shocking shootings at Virginia Tech when 32 lives were cut short.  Remembrance activities including runs and candlelight vigils are scheduled and for the first time students are returning to class on this day.

Today, I choose not to dwell on the negativity of April 16, 2007, but remember why students, faculty and staff are at Virginia Tech.  It’s a vibrant, close-knit community and a place of many happy memories for me.  So today I’m focusing on those memories and thinking of why people come and stay at Virginia Tech.

One of my favorite places on campus is the War Memorial, a place of remembrance for alumni who’ve lost their lives serving our country.  The eight pylons of the memorial represent: Brotherhood, Honor, Leadership, Sacrifice, Service, Loyalty, Duty, and Ut Prosim (the University motto: “That I May Serve”).

I always feel a great sense of peace when I’m at the War Memorial.  And that’s what I’d like to feel today, a sense of peace.  I created a printable with the War Memorial in mind.

May we all have peace today.

— Martta

One thought on “Ut Prosim

Leave a Reply

