One Cannot Have Too Large a Party

Looking back at the pictures of the baby cake from last week made me think of one of my entertaining mantras.  It’s a delightful quote from Jane Austen’s Emma: “One cannot have too large a party”

So true my dear Emma, so true.

I decided I needed a bit of inspiration today and here it is: my mantra in printable format.  

One of my guy friends asked me once, “What is it with women and Jane Austen?!?”.   I think the simplest answer is that she wrote to women and for women in a way that men can never understand.

Or as I told him at the time “I don’t know, but it’s like crack.  I’m going to go watch Pride and Prejudice again now.”

Hmm maybe an afternoon viewing of Pride and Prejudice is in order today as well!

–Martta


One thought on “One Cannot Have Too Large a Party

Leave a Reply

