Cream Cheese Spinach Tortilla Rolls

Once a year, I host our neighborhood Bunco group. We have such a good time chatting, playing, eating, and of course indulging in a glass of wine… or 3. Because I was hosting in March, and a week before St. Patrick’s Day, I decided to go along with a green theme, and add in a few shamrocks here and there. I’ll try to share all of my recipes over the next week!

Today, I’ve got a recipe my Grandma shared with me a few years ago. It’s super easy, and always a crowd pleaser. These cream cheese rolls are similar to the ones you see on catering trays from the grocery store, but cheaper, and so easy to do yourself!

Ingredients:

16 ounces cream cheese – softened

1 packet dry ranch dressing mix

Half of 1 small can chopped olives

1 small can diced green chilies

fresh green onion – about 3, chopped

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 package tortillas – I used the spinach wraps for the green color, but you can use plain, low fat, whole grain, whatever you like!

Mix all the ingredients together… except the tortillas! I let mine sit overnight so the flavors could blend, but you don’t have to… maybe let it sit for a good hour or 2. Take one tortilla, and spread the mixture all over, evenly. I think I used about a 1/2 cup per tortilla, and made about 5 tortillas worth.

Roll up the tortilla, making it as tight as you can. You don’t want gaps or spacing inside the tortilla. Chill for about an hour, then slice them up! I cut off the uneven ends (a snack for me!), and sliced the rest in approximately 1 inch increments. Done!

I served mine on a chilled glass cake stand… I think it helped keep the cream cheese cold for a longer period.

Some tips:

You can make the filling a day or 2 ahead! However, I don’t recommend rolling them until a few hours before your party or event. I made one roll a day ahead to see if it would be ok, and it was slightly soggy. Yuck. I even rolled it in plastic wrap, but I think the humidity of the refrigerator, plus the cheese, just doesn’t work.

Enjoy your St. Patty’s Day!

-Heather

Leave a Reply

