Painted Wine Glasses

My neighborhood has a book club.

Well, it started as a book club and has evolved (devolved?) into a club where we only read wine labels.  There is no shame in that.  It’s girl time at its best and since it’s in the ‘hood, you just have to walk home ;)

As the neighborhood has grown, so has book club.  In December we had almost 30 people at book club!  As you can imagine, this puts an awful strain on the wine glass supply at any hostess’ house!  It was then that Julie, genius that she is, declared that we needed to have our own wine glasses to bring to book club.

But we couldn’t just have any wine glasses, we need to pimp our wine glasses out!  So we determined that January’s meeting would be a crafting meeting: bring a wine glass, supplies and creativity!

For inspiration, I found some wonderful videos of the Pebeo Vitrea 160 paints as well as more traditional flower painting techniques using glass enamel paints.  We were short on time so the Pebeo Vitrea paints were out and we had to make due with the glass enamels. But for my particular design, it wasn’t a problem.

I picked two blues and a gold for my design.  I came armed with an assortment of paintbrushes and a stylus and I was ready to get to work!

Oh yeah and I also came armed with the biggest wine glass in the place…..I mean if you’re going to have a pimp cup, it needs to be big!

I chose a really simple dot design.  I created three sizes of dots using the back end of my paint brushes and my stylus.  Here I had painted the large dots, medium dots and was just getting started on the small dots in the first color.

Patience and a bit of time later, I had all three colors applied to the glass. 

Now that mine was all set to dry, I could check out everyone else’s creations.  Erica went with the painted flowers  J-Lee did a drip method on her “spider man” wine glass  Sarah used the same method drip method but with translucent enamel paints for a wonderful effect.  And Julie chose to paint words on her glass…..wine themed book titles: A Tale of Two Varietals, War and Pinot, and Around the World in Cabernet to name a few. 

They all turned out pretty darn amazing! Once the paints had dried for 48 hours, it was into the cold oven for a 30 minute baking at 325.  I allowed the glass to cool in the oven and then snapped it up to wash and dry then it and was ready to go!

I can’t wait for the next book club to test out my very own “Big Carl”!

–Martta

3 thoughts on “Painted Wine Glasses

  1. Soooo pretty. I love it! And I love that your book club turned into a wine-label reading club. Impressive stuff! Might just instigate something similar myself. Thank you for the inspiration :-)

    • Definitely instigate a wine label reading club of your own! If people ask, we say we’re reading “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”. It still seems reasonable even after a year and a half :)

  2. My book club still reads books, but the book discussion part takes a backseat to the drinking/eating part. Love the personalized wine glass idea!

Leave a Reply

