Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

With the cold weather hitting Austin the last couple of weeks, I wanted something nice and warm for dinner… you know, something to keep me warm while cooking, then warm my whole body while eating. I find myself looking for something to bake or cook because I’m cold and I want to heat up the oven!

After spending some time on Pinterest, I found this Tomato Basil soup recipe, but definitely altered it a bit to my liking. Here is my version…

Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

2 – 28 oz cans crushed tomato

1 cup chicken broth

1/2  sweet onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp black pepper

10-12 fresh basil leaves

1 cup heavy cream

First, sauté the onion & garlic in a little bit of olive oil. When translucent, add the crushed tomato, chicken broth, sugar & black pepper. Simmer for about 20-30 min. In a blender or food processor, puree the soup with the fresh basil leaves until smooth. I did mine in 2 batches. Return the soup to the pan and add the heavy cream. Simmer for another 15 min. You can add more chicken broth if it appears too thick.

I served mine with toasted sourdough bread, and it was so delicious! You can lighten this up by removing the cream, or make it vegetarian by using vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth.

Enjoy this on a cold winter day!

-Heather

One thought on “Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Leave a Reply

