Salty-Sweet Halloween Bark

It’s a documented fact that pretzels and chocolate go together like peanut butter and jelly.  Delicious.  As I was whipping up a few dishes for the decorations party, I decided I needed a sweet Halloween treat.  Chocolate and pretzels are a good start, but I needed more.

At this time of year candy corn is as ubiquitous Fall leaves changing color so you know I have some in my cupboard.  Now, as much as I love candy corn, after about 10 pieces I can get sweeted-out (You know, until 5 minutes later when I go back for another handful….).  The pretzels are the perfect foil to balance the sugar shock of the candy corns.   Halloween candy + pretzels + chocolate = a winning combination.

I picked up the extensive ingredients list for this treat:

  • 24 oz Dark chocolate
  • 2 Cups mini-twists pretzels
  • 1 Cup candy corn + 1 Cup for eating while you are making the bark

Using the same method I used to make jelly bean bark, I heated the chocolate and spread it on to my baking sheet lined with Silpat.  I then sprinkled the pretzels and candy corn, pressing in gently so they would set in the chocolate.

After the chocolate was hard, I broke the bark into pieces.  This is best eaten the day it’s prepared.  If you have leftovers, seal in an air tight container so the pretzels won’t lose their crisp.

–Martta

3 thoughts on “Salty-Sweet Halloween Bark

  1. I love the salty pretzel / chocolate combo. Never thought of doing it myself. What fun! Not sure I will be able to get hold of corn candy here in the UK though 😦

  2. Pingback: Race for the Cure Decorations Making Party | HMH Designs

Leave a Reply

