Giada’s Chicken Marsala

One of my favorite dishes is chicken marsala. Something about the flavor of marsala wine just gives chicken & mushrooms an amazing depth of flavor. Giada De Laurentiis’ Family Dinners book has this amazing recipe for chicken marsala that brings even more amazing flavor to the dish.

Chicken Marsala with Mascarpone Mustard Sauce

I tend to leave out quite a bit of the butter & I don’t miss it at all. The mascarpone more than makes up for it! And if you can’t find dry marsala, just use sweet… I’ve used it in the past, and I don’t think it makes a significant difference in the final product. I found my mascarpone near the specialty cheeses & spreads, like Allouette & Borsin. If your grocery store does not carry it, you can substitute heavy cream… about 3/4 cup should be perfect, and just let it simmer & reduce a little longer.

A few of the ingredients all ready for their party in the pot!

I pounded my chicken breast to make them easier to cook evenly… this also cut down on my cooking time… especially good when making this on a weeknight and the kids are screaming they are “STARVING”.

I like to use smaller pastas like penne, rotini, or bowtie… it’s much less work to eat, and the nooks & crannies hold the sauce better than the fettuccine Giada recommends.

I highly recommend this recipe! It’s great for a nice dinner at home or even a small dinner party. We usually eat this with caesar salad & a nice crusty bread.

Try this & enjoy!

-Heather

HookingupwithHoH

Leave a Reply

