Sugar Cookie Bars with Chocolate, Caramel & Almonds

Again, Pinterest has been an inspiration for new crafts & recipes. These sugar cookie bars looked like something my kids would devour in seconds, but I wanted something without frosting… don’t hate me, but I’m not a big fan of frosting. Chocolate & almonds felt a little more my taste, and these did not disappoint.

cookie barFollowing this recipe, I basically left off the frosting, cut into bars, and dipped in chocolate melted over a double boiler. I also had some caramel bites… throw them in a bowl with a little water or milk, microwave until melted & smooth. Drizzle over your bars & sprinkle with almonds. It’s a cookie & candy bar all in one! I did leave out the lemon zest for my version, but mostly because I just forgot! Doh!

Here’s a pic of the caramel bites I used. You can also buy pre-made caramel or use the wrapped cubes if you can’t find these.

Source: Our Best Bites

These were fantastic with a hot cup of coffee in the morning. If you want to serve these for a party with adults & kids, I suggest using frosting on half of the pan, and using my dipped method on the other half… then everyone is happy!

Enjoy!

-Heather

Leave a Reply

