Vixen Diet Approved: Sage Chicken with Caramelized Onions and White Beans

This meal is fast to prepare and really filling.  With thoughts turning to Fall (even if the temperature isn’t cooperating), I’m ready for some earthy flavors and stick to your ribs kind of meals.

The challenge I’ve had with cooking lately is that I’ve had to cut out a lot of my favorite foods.  I got an infection earlier this year which really knocked out my ability to process more complex foods like cheese, milk, red meats, processed foods with lots of dyes etc.  I’m slowly recovering, but it’s a REALLY slow process.  Annoyingly slow.

I’ve been spending tons of time explaining to people what I could and couldn’t eat and then I finally realized I could pretty much shorten the long winded explanation to “I’m basically eating vegan plus chicken”.  It’s short, people understand it, it’s easy to say.

As I was sitting in a restaurant explaining to my friend why I wasn’t ordering food while he ate (Restaurants are a nightmare because who knows what’s going into that meal???), I told him I’m on a vegan plus chicken diet and he says “Oh, you’re on a Vixen diet”.  Ooh I like that.  I’m on the Vixen Diet.  Why yes, yes I am.

So enter an entirely new category in the cooking section of the blog – Vixen approved foods.  This recipe was one of my first concoctions when I had to turn to cooking almost all of my meals at home.  Trust me, it’s challenging.  No butter, no cream, no cheese – Paula Dean wouldn’t last two minutes in the kitchen I’m working in now!

Creativity is king and it’s a dang good thing I’m not sick and tired of chicken yet!  Fall and Winter foods are so rich because of the delicious butter and fat but with a lot of that out the door, I needed to find ways to capture the feeling without making me regret dinner.  So here it is, my sage chicken with caramelized onions and white beans.  You only need a few ingredients to make this happen – most of which are probably already in your pantry. 

So gather up the following:

  • One pound of chicken
  • Dried sage
  • 1 T Olive oil
  • One large sweet onion
  • 1/2 C White wine or chicken stock
  • One 15-oz. can cannellini beans
  • Once package of pre-washed arugula or spinach
  • Salt and pepper
Ingredient notes:
  • I use boneless skinless chicken breasts, but chicken thighs would be a great substitute and flavor boost.
  • If you have fresh sage, consider adding a bit in to the oil to infuse it before cooking the chicken.
  • If butter is an option for you, create a sage brown butter sauce for an even richer dinner.
  • White or yellow onions will also work in this dish, I just happen to like the little extra bit of sugar in the sweet onion

Begin by seasoning your chicken with sage, salt and pepper.  Sage just says Fall to me and it pairs so well with poultry – I bet this would also work with turkey.  Heat the olive oil in a skillet on medium high heat and add the chicken.  

While the chicken is browning on both sides, slice the onion and rinse the beans.  Cook the chicken through and remove from pan.  Add the onions and turn the heat to medium.  Stir, sautéing the onions, until lovely and golden. 

Deglaze the pan with the wine or chicken stock.  Use a wooden spoon or a heat safe spatula to scrape up all the delicious bits from the bottom of the pan.  Once the liquid begins to bubble add the rinsed beans to the skillet.  Warm for a minute and slide the chicken back into the pan to heat again.

To serve, place two cups of arugula or spinach on a plate and spoon over the onion and white bean mixture along with a bit of the pan sauce.  Slice the chicken and serve along with the salad. 

I know, it doesn’t look like a huge, stick-to-your-ribs kind of meal.  But trust me, you will be full.

–Martta

Leave a Reply

