Minky Baby Blanket Taggy Variation

Well, since we’re on a baby shower gift making kick, I decided to take a page out of Heather’s book and add an adorable Minky baby blanket into the mix.

I’ve got left over fabric from the burp cloths as well as a stash of ribbon.  I figured I’d add a bunch of Minky and get a good size cuddle cuddle blanket.

I started by cutting 30 inch squares out of the Minky and coordinating fabric.  I decided to embellish with ribbon tabs all along the edge of the blanket.  So I cut 20 six inch pieces of ribbon.

I pinned the ribbon in a loops to the inside of the blanket.  The spacing was a bit fun to figure out – I ended up with my ribbon on about 4 7/8″ centers.  I started with the ribbon in the center of each side and then added the two loops on either side.  This way, I didn’t have to mess with remembering the side seam allowance.

Once I was satisfied with the ribbon placement, I stitched all the loops into place with a 1/4″ seam.  I then used a tons of pins, as recommended by Heather, to fit the squishy soft Minky to the front, right sides together.  At this point, I trimmed the Minky a bit to make sure I’d have even seams all the way around.  I double pinned at the opening I left for turning and stitched a 1/2″ seam around the blanket, backstitching at the opening to reinforce it.

I clipped the corners of the blanket so they would lay flat when I turned it.

Turn and press, making sure not to melt your ribbon.   I finished this off with a 1/4″ top stitch around the inside of the blanket to lock everything in place.

Done!  I really like the tabs, I think they will be perfect for little chubby hands to grab on.

-Martta

Linking up here:

HookingupwithHoH

3 thoughts on “Minky Baby Blanket Taggy Variation

  1. Pingback: Baby Crinkle Toy | HMH Designs

Leave a Reply

