Strawberry Basil Bubbly

I’m headed to Houston to do a bit of training this week and I just hate to leave leftovers in my ‘fridge.  I’ve got an obsessive need to clean out the whole thing even though I’m only going to be gone for a few days.  So what am I going to do with that basil that’s left in there?  I usually make pesto, but I was in the mood for something new and a Saturday night cocktail was calling my name….

So I dug through my freezer and came up with strawberries.  I had planned on using these for a healthy and delicious smoothie at some future point….but let’s be honest, they’ve been in there for almost three months….the smoothie just isn’t going to happen.  So I’ve got strawberries, basil and luckily enough a partial bottle of prosecco – it’s an Italian wonderland of flavors.

So let’s get started.  Step 1: Sit down.  Those strawberries need to thaw out!

After, you’ve waited just as long as you can, or 10 minutes, blitz up a strawberry puree in the blender or mini-chopper:

At this point you can stop and make granita or you can forge ahead and add the basil.  This is really to taste, but for my four cups of strawberries, I added eight very large leaves.

Blitz again and once you’re satisfied with the fine dice of the basil, spoon it into your champagne flute and pour the bubbly over top of it.  After a very thorough examination, I’ve found that adding it on top of the prosecco works just as well.  Aren’t you glad I road tested it both ways?  It was a tough job, but someone had to do it!

Give the cocktail a small stir.  It will bubble – you don’t want to break all the bubbles so don’t get too aggressive.  Top with a sprig of basil and go out to the porch to enjoy the 98 degree heat.  Aaaah Summer in Texas.

Look at those beautiful flecks of basil in there, aren’t they just gorgeous??  Now what to do with the rest of the basil….for some reason I ran out of prosecco….

–Martta

Leave a Reply

