Chocolate Chip Banana Bran Bread

Say that 5 times fast!

We had some bananas looking pretty sad on the counter, so I decided they had to be used before they met the awful fate of the trash can. I checked my Better Homes & Garden Baking Book, but the banana bread they had just didn’t have the extra punch I wanted. Plus, whenever I can, I add unprocessed bran to baked goods… my kids need the extra fiber, and so do we for that matter! So I changed a few things and made it my own… I know, you’re shocked, right?

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup bran

1 tsp cinnamon

2/3 cup vegetable oil

3 bananas, very ripe & mashed

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1.5 tsp baking powder

1.5 tsp baking soda

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup sugar

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray to round cake pans with cooking spray.

Measure all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix. Combine all the wet ingredients in another bowl, then add to the dry mix. Stir everything together until combined and try not to over mix.

I only have one loaf pan, so I decided to use my two 9 inch cake rounds. Fill them each with half the batter and bake for 25 minutes. A toothpick should come out clean!

This was so good! In fact, my husband ate one entire round himself… I almost had to hide it so the rest of us could enjoy some later! The addition of the bran is barely noticeable for those who might be worried about picky eaters. My kids have been eating pancakes, waffles, and quick breads with added bran for the last 2 years. I may try this with whole wheat flour next time, but I have a feeling they might notice… baby steps!

Enjoy, and let me know what you think!

-Heather

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bran Bread

  1. I will have to try this! Sounds like it would be good for all three meals and snack time. 🙂
    Is that 1.5 tsp baking soda? Or is 1.2 correct…like just over one tsp?

Leave a Reply

