Austin Avenues

Sometimes I walk by a piece of art and think to myself, I gotta be able to make that at home. I was shopping last week and ran across this print at ZGallerie. I was struck by the simple graphic nature of the piece and how easy it was for me to instantly relate these words to Chicago.

About a half hour of preparation later and I have my masterpiece – all tailored to my hometown. I had to make it red, because doesn’t Texas just call out for a red background?

The full size version is 8.5 x 15 ….now I just need to figure out where I can get a mat and frame for that funky size.  I guess a trip to Hobby Lobby is called for!

Check out the continuation of this post where I actually got this print up on the wall at my house….after several missteps!

–Martta

We’re linking up here:

HookingupwithHoH

7 thoughts on “Austin Avenues

  1. You could always print it on regular paper at office depot (it is like 2 bucks) or on blueprint paper at staples. Both give big impact for cheap and can be trimmed to fit bigger size frames.
    Also I am digging using those cheapie plastic tall skinny wall art frames (the ones about the size of a behind the door mirror- like the Everything I learned from My Cat etc- and just turning the print over to use the frame. Found several at goodwill cheap! I like that they are lightweight and have plastic instead of glass.

  2. Pingback: Hookin Up with HoH #48

    • Allison… Thank you so much for the feature! If you want a copy, you should be able to click the pic, then click again to magnify for a full size. Then just right click and download to your computer. Hope that helps!

  3. This is so fab! All of those streets SCREAM Austin! I think red is a great color to match most homes, but I can’t help picturing Austin as burnt orange! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

