Ruffled Flower Pin

During a recent playdate at the park, a friend of mine and I were talking about fabric flowers. She mentioned seeing a large fabric flower pinned to a friend’s hat, and really loved it, but had no idea how to make one. I scoured my favorite blogs, and found this one from Cluck Cluck Sew. I knew I had a ton of scrap strips similar to hers, so I went for it!

My strips were only 2 inches wide, instead of the 2.5 inches Allison uses in her tutorial. Also, I’m not sure if it was just my machine, but the first time I ruffled the fabric strip, it did not seem to be ruffled enough. I went back a second time and using the same gathering technique, I simply added more resistance to the top thread as I sewed, making it a tighter ruffle. Just hold the thread at the top, right between where it comes off the spool, and before it goes into the machine.

Other than that, I followed her technique, and I think mine looks pretty similar!

My finished flower!

The back with a pin hot glued onto felt.

My fully cooperative model! I love this flower pinned to her big floppy sunhat. I’m sure I’ll be making more of these fun flowers!

I gave this flower pin to my friend Jana and she was so happy! I can’t wait to see how she decides to wear her pin.

What do you think? Do you have enough scraps to make a sweet ruffled flower? Share your projects with us!

 

-Heather

2 thoughts on “Ruffled Flower Pin

  1. I could have used a big flower pin on my aqua large brimmed hat I am bringing to Mexico on Saturday! Love your flower pin! XO to your “cooperative” model. 🙂

  2. I’ve been wanting to make a big ruffled flower or two! Yours turned out so cute! I’ll let you know how mine turns out. It’s on my list of crafts to try out 🙂
    I love your model 🙂 SO CUTE!

Leave a Reply

