St. Patrick’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

The dessert in a jar craze has been all over Pinterest and the blog world for a good year now. I finally bought some small jars from Walmart to make my dessert for St. Patrick’s Day Bunco! I think they were just under $8 for a dozen… not terrible, and something I can use over and over. I believe they are about 4 ounces… I bought the larger size when we were celebrating my son’s birthday in CA last year, and they were much too big for a normal serving. As much as we all wanted to, nobody needs to eat 2 cupcakes and a wicked amount of frosting in one jar!

Strawberry shortcake in a jar sounded perfect to me… I am terrible with frosting, so the berries and whipped cream made this super easy for me to assemble quickly right before my party.

I started by adding some decorative ribbon to my jars… measure the circumference of your jar, then cut your ribbon slightly longer. I used hot glue to attach the ribbon to itself, making sure to pull tightly, so it wouldn’t slip off.

Now make some shortcake!

Ingredients:

Strawberries! I had a huge box from Costco, but if you are making this for a small family, one container from your grocery store is plenty.

Yellow cake – baked in a 9×13 per box directions

Heavy cream, vanilla extract, and sugar – for the whipped cream.

Clean & cut your strawberries into bite sized pieces. Add a teaspoon or 2 of sugar and gently mix them together… this lets the strawberries sweet juices flow!

I turned my cake out onto a large cutting mat, then used an empty sanding sugar container to cut cylinders of cake. If you have a biscuit cutter that matches the diameter of your jars… use it! I don’t have biscuit cutters, and for some crazy reason 2 stores I checked did not have them!! I thought I lived in the South! Thankfully, my cake was slippery enough to come out of my jar, but you may want to lightly spray yours with cooking spray if your cake sticks.

Here is my cake inside the jars…

Next, just spoon the strawberries over the cake and top with whipped cream!

Whipped Cream:

Pour 1 cup heavy cream into your mixer’s bowl (I use my KitchenAid, but you can use a hand mixer as well). I like to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and about a tablespoon of sugar. Using the whisk attachment, whisk on medium to high speed for about a minute, or until peaks form. Don’t over whip… you don’t want butter!

I made the picks using kabob skewers I cut down into 4 inch pieces, then taped on the decorative tags. The tags I downloaded for free from The Tomkat Studio… I just used a scalloped 2-inch punch to cut them out, and taped them to the skewers. You can also use popsicle sticks, lollipop sticks, or whatever you can find!

My guests loved the shortcake, and it was something easy to make that made a big impact. Let us know how you’ve made dessert in a jar… it’s always fun to hear new ideas!

-Heather

5 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Those are so very cute, and strawberry shortcake
    is what I’ve always had for me birthday. It’s Irish enough.
    Cheerz to a happy St. Patrick’s Day! :) Uncle Tree

  2. Did you make and serve immediately or can they be made in advance? If so, how far in advance do you think is ok??

    • I made the cake the night before, and prepped the strawberries & sugar that morning. You can make homemade whipped cream about 3-4 hours in advance, at most. You should be fine to put the berries on the cake 1-2 hours before serving, then place the whipped cream on top just before serving. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

